School of Dental Medicine


Free Screening for Dental Board Exam

The ECU School of Dental Medicine is offering FREE dental screenings and select x-rays in October, November, December and January and FREE dental care in March for those who qualify. Learn more.



PUBLIC SERVICE AWARD: Chadwick receives UNC system award for public service

Dr. Gregory Chadwick, dean of East Carolina University’s School of Dental Medicine, was awarded the 2017 Gov. James E. Holshouser Jr. Award for Excellence in Public Service on Friday, Nov. 3. The UNC Board of Governors bestows the honor each year on one faculty member from the University of North Carolina system who exemplifies public service toward improving the quality

Read More


Student Leslie Pence receives 2017 Dental Trade Alliance Foundation scholarship

Leslie Pence, third-year student at the ECU School of Dental Medicine, has been selected as a 2017 Dental Trade Alliance Foundation scholarship winner. The Dental Trade Alliance Foundation is awarding $5,000 scholarships this year to rising third and fourth-year dental students who have demonstrated academic excellence in dentistry and have an established commitment to community service. Leslie, who is originally

Read More


Dental Student Government officers assume their roles in 2017-2018

The ECU School of Dental Medicine’s Dental Student Government (DSG) officers have been selected for 2017-2018. The officers include Maria Isabel “Bel” Rego, president; Kiersten Bethea, vice president; Taylor Windley, secretary; Alexis Webb, treasurer; and Briana Hudson, community service chair. The DSG represents the dental student body and acts as a guide in all academic and social matters. The role

Read More


Acela Martinez Luna, DMD, MS receives Straumann Scholarship for New Periodontists

Acela Martinez Luna, DMD, MS, clinical assistant professor of periodontology at the ECU School of Dental Medicine Department of Surgical Sciences, has been awarded a 2017 Straumann Scholarship for New Periodontists. Through the generous support of Straumann, the American Academy of Periodontology competitively awarded 17 scholarships to new U.S. and Canadian periodontists. Dr. Martinez Luna received the scholarship award at the

Read More


Research event highlights pulpal regeneration and showcases student work

 Is it possible that root canals could soon become a thing of the past? It’s quite likely according to Kenneth Hargreaves, DDS, PhD, professor and chair of the Department of Endodontics, UT Health, San Antonio, Texas. Dr. Hargreaves’ presentation “Regeneration Endodontics: From Stem Cells to Biologically Based Endodontic Procedures” resonated with faculty, residents, students, and staff attending the School of

Read More

Quick Links
  • There are no upcoming events

Patient Welcome Video